Posted in music

Punk & the New Wave

This is probably going to be the last of the Musicology slide shows. Dunno. I could do one for the mid-80s indie scene (epitomised by NMEs C86 giveaway). But then again I (a) lack interest and (b) lack knowledge.

 

Author:

World famous writer labouring in obscurity. My other blog is a Porsche.

One thought on “Punk & the New Wave

  1. Interesting. I always associate London’s 100 Club with the early days of punk.

    We used to go erratically to a Tuesday session at the 100 called ‘independent music’ or something, which evolved into the punk sessions.

    There’s a good description of the 2 day punk festival here:
    http://hoagy-articles.blogspot.com/2010/08/100-club-punk-festival.html

    The Siouxsie/Clash/Pistols evening was pretty intense – although I don’t remember any difficulty getting in to the place. After that event the punk bands seemed to pop up all over London.

Comments are closed.