Posted in bastards, musings

Missing presentations alert

Keynote (presentation software)
Keynote (presentation software) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

There were a number of embedded Slideshare presentations on this and other blogs, which will shortly disappear (or may already have). Slideshare has become increasingly strident in its attempts to get people to sign up for “pro” accounts, but I couldn’t justify the expense of even a Silver Pro account at the education discount. This is because my own students are pretty useless at using my resources and they were mainly used by others. So I could hardly spend any of my budget running a Slideshare Pro account on behalf of other schools.

The final straw was when Slideshare changed the file size upload limit to 10MB for non-paying users.

That’s their prerogative, but that’s when the system became useless for me going forward.

If anyone knows of a decent solution for uploading presentations (not PowerPoint, I use Keynote and convert them to PDFs), drop me a line.

Sadly, this meant deleting the just-born Musicology blog, but there would be no point in going further with it, since future uploads wouldn’t be possible (none of my presentations is as small as 10MB – I did a small one today for a GCSE class, with just 10 slides in it and it was 11MB).

This is a big blow to my presence on the internets, because Slideshare was the only site I’ve ever joined where I got any audience to speak of, and more followers than I was following, if you know what I mean. Still, they had pissed me off a few times recently, with aesthetic changes to the site that made it worse, with tacky and intrusive ads, and with the constant nagging. Okay, so I’m using some server space and all that, but £114 a year? Even if I stumped up for one year, I couldn’t justify that for the next 10 years, say. A Pro upgrade for WordPress is a more realistic $99 per year, and a space upgrade can be as little as $10 per year for an additional 10GB.

So, ego bruised one last time, I crawl back under my rock.

Author:

World famous writer labouring in obscurity. My other blog is a Porsche.